Call for Applications

2015 Australian Government National Youth Awards for Young Australians ($2,000 prize money, a trophy and a certificate)

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr
Application Deadline: November 27 2014
The National Youth Awards (the Awards) are an Australian Government initiative that acknowledges and celebrates the outstanding achievements of Australia’s young people. This is in keeping with the original aim of National Youth Week (NYW) and these Awards are the national event and celebration of NYW.
These guidelines cover the application and nomination process for the 2015 Awards. These Awards are for young people aged between 12-25 years old as of 16 April 2015. Individuals can be nominated for an Award or can apply for the Award themselves.
Eligibility Criteria:

For The Awards To be eligible for an Award, an applicant or person being nominated must:
  • be between the ages of 12 and 25 as at 16 April 2015;
  • be an Australian citizen or permanent resident (proof may be required); and
  • have no criminal history or any pending criminal proceedings against them.
  • The Awards are intended for individuals only. Groups of people are not eligible to apply or be nominated
There are seven Awards available in different categories.Six of the Awards are for individuals and one Award is to celebrate positive news reporting about young people in Australia. The six individual Award Categories that you can apply for or be nominated for are:
  • The Youth Leadership Award
Awarded to a young person who demonstrates leadership through participation and contribution to the community.
  • The Youth Culture and Diversity Award
Awarded to a young person who promotes the understanding of different cultures and engages the community
  • The Youth Employment Award
Awarded to a young person who has developed, or contributed to progressing, employment opportunities for youth.
  • The Youth Courage Award
Awarded to a young person who has demonstrated resilience in the face of difficult obstacles. The person may also be a role model or mentor to others who have faced similar life obstacles.
  • The Youth Health Award
Awarded to a young person who advocates and promotes a positive, healthy life.
  • The Youth Safety Award
Awarded to a young person who has advocated or developed a successful safety initiative, online or in the community, covering an
important safety topic.
  • The Youth in Media Award
Awarded to a media outlet/journalist whose recent story (within the last 12 months) has positively portrayed youth in the news
  • Youth Employment Award;
  • Youth Courage Award;
  • Youth Health Award; and
  • Youth Safety Award.
The seventh Award is the Youth in Media Award. People are asked to nominate a recent news story (within the last 12 months) that positively portrayed young people. The winner of this Award will be the writer/reporter/media organisation responsible for the nominated news story.
Each Award category winner (with the exception of the Youth in Media Award) will receive $2,000 prize money, a trophy and a certificate. The winner of the Youth in Media Award will receive a trophy and certificate.
Time Line:
Applications open 10 October 2014
Applications close 27 November 2014 ( 12.00pm AEDST)
Finalists notified During March 2015
Presentation of Awards 16 April 2015
For More Information:

Comments are closed.