2015 Commonwealth Scholarships for citizens of developed Commonwealth countries

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Application Deadline: 2 March 2015

Commonwealth Scholarships for citizens of developed Commonwealth countries (Australia, The Bahamas, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Cyprus, Malta, and New Zealand) are offered for PhD and split-site PhD study in the UK. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) in conjunction with UK universities.

To apply for the awards covered in this prospectus, candidates should:
  • Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons
  • Be permanently resident in one of the following countries: Australia, The Bahamas, Brunei Darussalam,Canada, Cyprus, Malta, or New Zealand
  • Be available to commence their academic studies in the United Kingdom by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2015
  • Hold, by October 2015, a first degree of upper second class Honours standard (or above); or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification, which will normally be a Master’s degree

Levels of study

You can apply for a Commonwealth Scholarship for the following levels of study:

  • PhD
  • Split-site, where the CSC supports one year’s study at a UK university as part of a PhD being undertaken in your home country

The CSC does not offer scholarships to candidates from developed Commonwealth countries who have already started their PhD study in the UK.

Candidates are encouraged to include three choices of institution on their application form. Commonwealth Scholarships for developed Commonwealth country citizens are offered under a joint funding arrangement between the CSC and host universities

What types of award are available?
Candidates can apply for the following types of award:
  • 36 months’ support towards completion of a full-time doctoral postgraduate qualification at an eligible UK institution
  • 12 months’ non-degree study in the United Kingdom on a split-site basis to aid the completion of a doctoral degree undertaken at a university in the candidate’s home country


How can I apply?
Applications must be submitted directly to the CSC using the Commission’s Electronic Application System (EAS), which can be accessed at
All candidates must complete their applications using the EAS by 2 March 2015

Comments are closed.