Call for Applications

2018 European Press Prize for Excellence in Journalism (€10,000 prize)

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Application Deadline: December 15th 2017

The European Press Prize is an award programme for excellence in journalism across all 47 countries of Europe. The European Press Prize celebrates and encourages excellent journalism. Application are now welcoming entries from all over the European continent.


The European Press Prize is awarded in four different categories. Each award is for 10,000 euros, to be spent wherever possible on a personal project that may, in turn, enrich the practice of journalism. The judges are also empowered to award a special prize for particular excellence. The nominated works will be published on the website of the European Press Prize.

INVESTIGATIVE REPORTING AWARD – For discovering and revealing facts, exposing hidden news to the public.

Investigative reporting is one of journalism’s core duties. It means journalists – either alone or in teams – discovering and revealing facts that would otherwise remain hidden: stories of corruption or neglect in business, secret deals in politics and hidden crimes of war, from an international scale to that of one hospital or one person.

DISTINGUISHED REPORTING AWARD – For exceptional reporting, telling a story in the best possible way.

The worlds of investigation and brilliant description or narrative blend into each other. Great journalism can reveal ánd describe in a single article. But this is the category – in news, features, business and sport – where fine reportage belongs.

OPINION AWARD – For a remarkable textual or visual interpretation of the world we live in.

In print and online, opinion is one of the basic forms of journalism. Columnists explain, interpret and give a particular focus to the news. Commentators help cast off old ideas and develop new ones. Opinion is journalism’s essential commentary on the world we live in. Entries in the section may come from columnists or bloggers, but may also include single pieces of up to 5,000 words – from regular contributors or guest writers.

INNOVATION AWARD – For challenging the current boundaries of journalism with a new idea or method.

This category, shifting focus from year to year as new trends in journalism develop, salutes reporting, analysis and technical developments that seeks to break new ground online – or off. Entries should detail what’s new here and how it enlarges horizons.

SPECIAL AWARD – The judges award a special prize for excellent journalism to one striking entry which defies categories and disciplines.

Each year European Press Prize judges have the power to single out some area of special excellence in European journalism. Sometimes – as in 2015 – the judges may recognise particular achievements in international data journalism. Sometimes – as in 2016 – they recognised the weight and brilliance of much of the reporting of Europe’s migrant crisis.


Any journalist that works in or is from any of the 47 countries of the Council of Europe is eligible to compete in the European Press Prize.

The articles may be in any language, but accompanied by a synopsis in English (250 words maximum), explaining the theme of the article(s), together with an assessment of its impact and reception.

Articles should be a maximum of 5000 words in all. Going beyond that puts a heavy strain on translation resources.

The article should have been published between December 1st 2016 and December 31st 2017.

There are no limits to the amount of articles you can send in. You can either apply more than once, in, for example, different categories or with articles on different subjects. You can also add multiple articles in one entry, if they relate to each other.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the 2018 European Press Prize for Excellence in Journalism

Comments are closed.