Call for Application: 2018 European Green Capital Award and the European Green Leaf 2016

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The deadline for applications is 19 October 2015 for both awards

The European Commission has launched the 2018 European Green Capital Award and the European Green Leaf 2016.

The European Green Capital Award is given each year to a European city, not necessarily a capital, which has demonstrated a well-established record of achieving high environmental standards and is committed to ongoing and ambitious goals for future sustainable development. The European Green Capital also acts as a role model to inspire and promote best practices to other European cities.


  • All cities with more than 100,000 inhabitants can apply for the award. In countries where there is no city with more than 100,000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply.

The selection of a city to be designated European Green Capital 2018 will be assessed on the basis of twelve indicator areas:

  • Climate change: mitigation and adaptation
  • Local transport
  • Green urban areas incorporating sustainable land use
  • Nature and biodiversity
  • Ambient air quality
  • Quality of the acoustic environment
  • Waste production and management
  • Water management
  • Waste water treatment
  • Eco innovation and sustainable employment
  • Energy performance
  • Integrated environmental management.

The European Green Leaf is a competition open to cities with a population of between 20,000 and 100,000 inhabitants. Recognising success in achieving green growth, it is awarded to cities that bring green living concepts to life.

Cities applying for a European Green Leaf 2016 will be assessed under six categories:

  • Climate change and energy performance
  • Mobility
  • Biodiversity and land use
  • Quality of air and the acoustic environment
  • Waste and green economy
  • Water management


  • Both competitions are open to EU Member States, EU Candidate Countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.


  • The winners will be announced at an award ceremony which will take place in Ljubljana – the 2016 European Green Capital – in June 2016.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the European Green Capital Competition

Comments are closed.