Call for Applications

European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards 2016

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Application Deadline: 1st October 2016

The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards is Europe’s most prestigious prize in the heritage field. Every year, it honours the most outstanding heritage achievements from all over Europe. It recognises the excellence and dedication by architects, craftsmen, cultural heritage experts, volunteers, schools, local communities, heritage owners and the media. It stimulates creativity and innovation, through the power of example.

In 2017, the Awards will be given to up to 30 remarkable heritage projects and initiatives in four categories. Up to seven will be selected as Grand Prix winners and receive €10,000 each. One will get the Public Choice Award.

Outstanding heritage achievements will be awarded in the following categories:
● Conservation
● Research
● Dedicated service by individuals or organisations
● Education, training and awareness-raising


  • Architectural Heritage: single buildings or groups of buildings in rural or urban setting;
  • Building additions or alterations, or new building projects within historic areas;
  • Industrial and engineering structures and sites;
  • Cultural landscapes: historic urban environments or townscapes, city or town squares and streetscapes;
  • Historic parks and gardens, larger areas of designed landscape or of cultural, environmental and/or agricultural significance;
  • Archaeological sites, including underwater archaeology;
  • Works of art and collections: collections of artistic and historic significance or old works of art;
  • Intangible cultural heritage as practices, representations, expressions, as well as the knowledge and skills that communities, groups and, in some cases, individuals recognise as part of their cultural heritage;
  • Digitisation projects of cultural heritage.

Entries may be submitted from the countries that take part in the Creative Europe programme of the European Commission.

Countries eligible for the EU Prize:

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, FYROM, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldova, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and United Kingdom.
You can still apply for a Europa Nostra Award if your country is not on the list of eligible countries.

Countries eligible for the Europa Nostra Awards only:

Andorra, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, the Holy See, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Monaco, the Russian Federation, San Marino, Switzerland and Ukraine.


  • The European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage / Europa Nostra Awards will honour every year up to 30 outstanding heritage achievements from all parts of Europe.
  • The number of awards every year will depend on the type and quality of entries received.
  • Up to seven projects will be selected as Grand Prix winners and one will receive the Public Choice Award through an online vote conducted via the Europa Nostra website.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Europa Nostra Awards 2017

Comments are closed.