Western Union Pride of the Caribbean – UWI Scholarship Programme 2015/2016

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Application Deadline: August 31st 2015

Pride of the Caribbean is designed to support the academic ambitions of collegiate and college-bound students from the Caribbean community. The 2015 Western Union Pride of the Caribbean – UWI Scholarship Programme (as part of Pride of the Caribbean) is executed in partnership
with participating Western Union® Agents in the Caribbean, the Western Union Foundation and The University of the West Indies.
The 2015 Western Union Pride of the Caribbean – UWI Scholarship Programme is eligible to students enrolled in The University of the West Indies for the 2015 – 2016 academic school year.
The Western Union Pride of the Caribbean – UWI Scholarship Programme may be used for all degree programmes. All scholarship awards will be paid directly to the student’s account at The University of the West Indies.
All campuses are eligible:
  • Cave Hill Campus (Barbados),
  • Mona Campus (Jamaica),
  • St. Augustine Campus (Trinidad & Tobago) and/or Open Campus.

Scholarship Worth

  • Two (2) students will receive US$5,000 each and five (5) students will receive US$1,000 each towards tuition fees, accommodations and living costs associated with their education.


The award is available to full time registered students for the 2015/2016 academic year at one of the UWI’s On Campus, Off Campus or Open Campus Facilities and are:

  • Caribbean nationals, Caribbean born, or of Caribbean parentage (a US-born child of at least one Caribbean-born parent).
  • Currently residing in the Caribbean
  • 18 years or older.
  • Entering level two (2) and above of their undergraduate degree programme
  • Graduate students must have obtained at least an Upper Second Class Honours degree at the undergraduate level.
  • Applicant’s or one of the Applicant’s parents’ country of origin must be one of the following countries
    • Jamaica • Haiti • Bahamas • Guyana • Cayman Islands • St. Kitts & Nevis •
    Barbados • Bermuda • Dominica • Grenada • Turks & Caicos Islands • Trinidad & Tobago
    • St. Lucia • Anguilla • Belize • Montserrat • British Virgin Islands • Antigua & Barbuda
    • St. Vincent & the Grenadines


The award is based on:

  • Maintenance of a high level of academic performance (GPA of 3.0 or above);
  • Demonstrable involvement in co-curricular activities;
  • Verifiable financial need.

Application Timeline:

Application Deadline: August 31, 2015
Selection & notification to all applicants October 2015
Where to apply for the scholarship awarded through The University of the West Indies?
The application form can be accessed directly via:
• ST. AUGUSTINE CAMPUS (Trinidad & Tobago): http://www.sta.uwi.edu/scholarships/viewAll.asp
For More Information:

Comments are closed.